Photo Competition

With one of the photographers and her picture on the left.

Last week, I had the awesome opportunity to serve as a judge for a digital photography competition, held at the Admiral’s Boys and Girls Club right down the street from my college. Figuring it wouldn’t be too hard to do, I headed down in between classes with a good hour and a half to knock it out. Little did I know how difficult of a competition this would be to judge! After walking through the gallery several times and scoring many of the pieces, I still had many more to go and it was already 5:40…my class was at 6:00. Walking in heels across campus to make it there in time was definitely a work-out in and of itself : ) I talked with the director, Jill, and she said I could head back after class and finish up the scoring. The pictures were amazing- and the creativity of the photographers was unbelievable! It was so great to see how kids, at even five years old, learned how to capture a great picture. I wish I would have taken pictures of the pictures to show you all, but that might have been considered plagarism…so, you’ll just have to trust me on this one! I always love to see how a simple object or landscape can be transformed into an artistic piece of work. Needless to say, I left truly inspired and encouraged, to really consider the beauty of the world around me instead of just passing it by at a glance.

Posted by Picasa
This entry was published on March 26, 2009 at 3:51 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Photo Competition

  1. Hey Chelsea,A nice pair of color coordinating reeboks would have served you much better walking to class in a hurry.lol cool that you were just reading that verse. neat verse to see how we plan and God plans. Not one or the other, but both. Take care,Keith–(After Spring Break I want to come down for lunch. Let me know your what day would be best and lets set it up:)

Leave a Reply

