About Those Open Doors…

“God is just opening doors like crazy!”

“Everything is falling into place, and God is flinging open the doors for what He wants me to do.”

“I’m praying God will open the door for what He wants me to do.  If He opens it, I’ll walk through it.  I’ll just keep walking until He closes one.”

*****

Sound familiar?

I’ve said it, and chances are, if you’ve been walking with the Lord more than a few days, you’ve said it too.  But, where did we get that idea?  What’s with open doors?

Is an “open door” an opportunity that God has given you?  Most of the time, yes.  But, does it mean that when it gets hard to push through that it isn’t God’s will we pursue it?  I don’t think so.  I don’t think so at all.

1 Corinthians 16:9 says:

“For a great and effective door has been opened to me, and there are many adversaries.”

Maybe I’ve always been looking for the wrong thing.  Is it possible that the “door” God opens is the one with the most opposition, but I just like to take the easy way out?  Think about it.  If it is God’s will, it is Satan’s will for it not to happen.  Why wouldn’t it be the hardest option to pursue?

Maybe the magnitude and significance of  an opportunity is matched by the amount of adversity.

“Furthermore, when I came to Troas to preach Christ’s gospel, and a door was opened to me by the Lord, I had no rest in my spirit, because I did not find Titus my brother….” (2 Corinthians 2:12-13a)

Paul recognized an open door from the Lord, yet his spirit was anything but restful.  And, he had no one to join him in his faith journey.  Does that sound like an opportunity he should pursue?

Think about advice you’ve been given on living in alignment with the will of God…what decision would you make?  Take the open door of opportunity with a not-so-sure spirit and no companion?  Or, look for another option from the Lord?

“…but taking my leave of them, I departed for Macedonia.” (2 Corinthians 2:13b)

Paul took the door, regardless of what he “felt” and regardless of who was with him.

But is that what happens in your life?  In my life?  An open door.  A Word from the Lord.  An uneasy spirit.  No like-minded companion, yet we still leap in obedience?

Do I obey when it’s hard? Do I obey when it’s really hard? 

Do I obey when it’s really hard and I’m the only one God calls to do it? 

This entry was published on August 3, 2011 at 12:32 pm and is filed under Approval, Commitment, Faith, God's Word, Trust. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “About Those Open Doors…

  1. dawncampbell on said:

    Amen and Amen!!Not my will but HIS be done!!

Leave a Reply

