Remember

It’s been a while.  I know.  Sorry ’bout that.

I don’t even know why.  I’ve had these ideas tumbling around in my head, just waiting to be put into some logical order.  But everytime I sat down to write, something came up, or nothing came out.  Neither of which benefit the blogosphere or my overly-full noggin’.

There’s been so much going on lately.  Well, not a whole lot- work, school, and a roller-coaster ride with the Lord.  Feels like a lot though.  Probably because I’m in this place of tension.  This tug between doing what I need to do and not doing what I want to do- so consumed with “doing” everything on my list instead of “being” the Christian God has called me to be.

Funny how the situations He places us in can be used to display His glory or insult His name.  Honestly, my attitude at work seems to do more of the latter.  Each day, I go into the office thinking that I’ll be different, praying that I’ll be the light I’m called to be.  And most days I leave defeated, feeling that Satan won the battle.  I give into complaining and mumbling.  I am robbed of my joy.

Or do I just throw it out the window?  Sometimes I’m responsible for that lost joy.

Why?  Because I don’t STOP.

And remember.

STOP.

And count the blessings.

STOP.

And see His infinite wisdom in the madness.

Pastor Bob’s message today was on the word “memorial.”  On this September day, we reflect on events that led to the death of many and the sorrow of many more.  We look back and see a nation that, though broken, seemed united.  A nation that was strong in God’s strength- for once, FOCUSED on what really mattered.

A memorial always has the potential to point to God….Joshua 4…

1 And it came to pass, when all the people had completely crossed over the Jordan, that the LORD spoke to Joshua, saying: 2 “Take for yourselves twelve men from the people, one man from every tribe, 3 and command them, saying, ‘Take for yourselves twelve stones from here, out of the midst of the Jordan, from the place where the priests’ feet stood firm. You shall carry them over with you and leave them in the lodging place where you lodge tonight.’”
4 Then Joshua called the twelve men whom he had appointed from the children of Israel, one man from every tribe; 5 and Joshua said to them: “Cross over before the ark of the LORD your God into the midst of the Jordan, and each one of you take up a stone on his shoulder, according to the number of the tribes of the children of Israel, 6 that this may be a sign among you when your children ask in time to come, saying, ‘What do these stones mean to you?’

What do these stones mean to you?  To Joshua, this was a sign of God’s faithfulness.  It wasn’t just a pile of stones.  The Israelites crossed the Jordan on dry ground, after they dared to trust the One who said He would stop the waters once they put a foot in.  AND HE DID!  (Homework: read Joshua chapters 3-4)

Our lives should be dotted with memorials.  Memorials that cause people to ask, “Well, what does that mean? Why do you do that?”

And it’s not just for people to question.

It’s for us to remember.  Because, you see, no one else may be interested in that ratty old journal you kept when you were going through your driest season with the Lord.  But, you need to be.  You must remember! 

Today after the service, I sat in my car and wrote a journal entry, thanking God for what I had so quickly forgotten.  It’s easy to forget.  So much happens, especially in a relationship with the Lord.  But who wants to forget?

I look back at my journals and am amazed at how far God has brought me.  (I’m also amazed that He still puts up with me ; )  When I reflect on those moments of God’s salvation again and again and again, it’s hard to be in a crappy mood.  I’m filled with joy.  And hope.

Because if He did it then, He can do it now.  And more than that if my heart dares to rest in faith.

So this is a new week.  Monday is a new day.  A day to remember.

Challenge:  If you don’t own a journal, get one!  Start with a sentence a day or a paragraph.  Maybe it’s just one entry each week.  Whatever you do, write down those moments worth remembering…when God speaks, when you see an answered prayer, or feel far from where He is….write.  And reflect. And remember.  Because it’s too easy to forget.

 

This entry was published on September 12, 2011 at 12:26 am. It’s filed under Faith, Journaling, Time, Waiting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

