Those Who Can’t Do, Teach?

I’ll admit.  It’s been a while since I’ve been consistent at the gym.  But, today I decided I would change that by specifically scheduling time to take the F.I.T. class.  Yep- fitness interval training (I’m pretty sure that was the acronym).  An hour of body sculpting insanity.  I felt like I was in boot camp.  Seriously.

While we were getting supplies out of the closet, the instructor “welcomed” us by saying, “Hurry up and get your stuff.  I’ve got a class to teach! Let’s go!”  Not quite the welcome I expected, but maybe I did need a good kick in the rear.

We started the class with a warm-up, then progressed through increasingly difficult intervals.  My legs were shakin’ and bakin’, and my face looked like a bright red balloon.  Attractive, I know ; )

“Keep going!  Don’t stop!  You only have eight more!”  Her voice was not motivating me one bit.  What was even more unmotivating was the fact that she was yelling at me for taking a break while she only did a few reps of each set.

Now, I understand a fitness instructor has to lead the class, but she literally stood and watched us for entire sets, while yelling that we shouldn’t quit.  Then, she would join in for the last two reps (when we were all about to die) and say, “Don’t give up now!  Come on!”

Listen. I’m all for encouragement, but the most encouraging act someone can display is to go through an experience with me, not yell at me about what I should or shouldn’t be doing.  It was the first class I had with Boot Camp Babe, and quite frankly, probably the last.

Want to know my favorite class?  So glad you asked : ) Body Sculpt, because the instructor does the exercises with us.  She feels the burn, and she even says, “Woooo!! I’m feeling it.  Anybody else with me?”  My biceps are normally screaming, “Oh yeah, girl! I feel ya!”

I love that Jesus walked the life that we live.  He can sympathize with me, because He’s been here.

“For we do not have a High Priest who cannot sympathize with our weaknesses, but was in all points tempted as we are, yet without sin” (Hebrews 4:15).

I respect Him so much more, and I want to keep coming back, because I know that He will stand beside me in my trials.  He doesn’t point His finger and say, “Just do more!  Be more!  Keep going!”  He says, “Whoa!  I’m feeling it!!  Do you feel Me?”

I pray that I do.  I pray that I feel the sting of suffering, “if, by any means, I may attain to the resurrection from the dead” (Philippians 3:11).  And, I pray that I feel the weightlessness of His grace, as He shoulders the burdens I’m unable to bear.

“It is Christ who died, and furthermore is also risen, who is even at the right hand of God, who also makes intercession for us” (Romans 8:34).

The same goes with our friends, too.  Are we walking the journey with them, or are we counseling from afar?  If we are “to walk just as He walked,” (1 John 2:6b), we must humble ourselves and be sacrificial in our love and service.  It’s much easier to tell others what they should do, but do our lives display actions that are consistent with our counsel?  Do we take the time, and often pain, to “bear one another’s burdens and so fulfill the law of Christ” (Galatians 6:2)?  Notice how I said “we” and “our”?  Man, this is a toughie!

This entry was published on October 8, 2011 at 4:29 am. It’s filed under Commitment, God's Word and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Those Who Can’t Do, Teach?

  1. amen and amen and I will end that with a big honkin’ ouch! yet another great blog post!!! love how you bring Gods instruction …Yay God Yay YOU!! love you tons

Leave a Reply

