What’s in a Name?

“LENNNY!!!! How’s it going?!”

“Hey Stephanie, let’s get lunch.”

“Jessie, what do you like to do for fun?”

“Ashley, would you mind moving those trays to the other table?”

****

Four different quotes.  Four different names.  Four different contexts.  But, what do these four quotes have in common?

They were all directed at me.

Yes, that’s right.  Just last night, I was called Lenny, two summers ago Stephanie (literally a summer-long affair), a few weeks ago Jessie, and this afternoon Ashley.

Don’t report me.  I’m not experiencing multiple personality disorder – just the benefit of superb human hearing and memory ; )

Now, if you know me, you probably know that I’m not the best at remembering names if I’ve only met someone once, so I can’t blame others who try to guess mine the second time they see me.  But, if it’s the fourth or fifth time and they don’t remember meeting me, I begin to think that, well- I’m just not that memorable.

At least not to them.

You see, I don’t mind if people call me Lenny or Stephanie or Jessie or Ashley.  Sometimes it’s actually quite amusing to hear what they come up with ;)  But, I would prefer that they remember my real name – Chelsea.  After all, that is my name.  And, there’s something so refreshing about a person who sees you for the second or third time and says, “Hey [so and so]! How are  you?”  Doesn’t it make you feel like they care?

Here’s the point:  He knows my name.  He doesn’t call me Lenny. Or Stephanie. Or Jessie. Or Ashley.  He calls me Chelsea, because He knows me, and He pays attention.  Can I just pause for a moment and rest in that?

You, too.

God knows you by name.

Jessica. Steven. Elizabeth. Tom. Sarah. Stuart. Mary. Victoria. He doesn’t have to guess or awkwardly ask.  You are etched into His memory. Forever.  And no matter how many names He has to remember, He will always remember your name.

“Fear not, for I have redeemed you;

I have called you by your name;

You are Mine.” Isaiah 43:1b

This entry was published on November 21, 2011 at 1:48 am. It’s filed under God and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “What’s in a Name?

  1. yet another great post CHELSEA :) love you tons and heaps….and so does HE…what a great reminder of our heavenly Fathers love for us…maybe forgotten by others but not by HIM!! priceless!!!

Leave a Reply

