The Irony

As I pounded out my last few minutes on the treadmill, I heard a familiar melody in the air… “I see trees of green, red roses too…I see ’em bloom, for me and for you…and I think to myself, what a wonderful world…”  The irony struck me as I watched what was flashing before my eyes.  Headlines recounting stories of “Christmas,” or the lack thereof:

House of Reps banned from using “Merry Christmas.”

Atheists in NJ protest “Christ in Christmas” banner.

If you’re anything like me, your heart kind of sinks and your shoulders begin to slump as you hear the music still playing softly in the background…”I see friends, shaking hands…saying how do you do, they’re really saying…I love you…”

And I think to myself…what a wonderful world?

The same God who helped establish this country’s freedom is kicked out of Christmas greetings, because after all, Christmas isn’t about Christ, right?  And, the very beings created by God shake their heads in protest at the proclamation of His name on a banner, celebrating the very reason Christmas began in the first place?

It didn’t sit right.  It hurt.  It made me want to ask God when He’s coming, and why it’s taking so long.  For I know that if my heart is weeping at the condition of humanity, surely His must be bleeding beyond words.  What can a Creator do when His created don’t live in the realm for which they are created?

Free will can be liberating or confining.  Those who don’t live in the liberating freedom Christ provides find themselves confined to a dim and dark pathway leading to destruction.  Yet they are decieved by the imitation of light.  Compare a bright summer’s day with a room full of flourescents.  Each provides light, but only one is the true source of illumination.  To be caught in the room of flourescents when one has never experienced the sun beams stretching out to greet you on a breezy afternoon is to not know true light.

I don’t discard the good deeds God accomplishes through mere humans.  I don’t gloss over the miracle of a baby’s birth or the sanctity of each uniquely-patterned snowflake.  I don’t miss the breathtaking beauty of sunsets and sunrises painted by the very hand of God.  Yes, it is a wonderful world.

But that doesn’t change the fact that it is a fallen world, a world that is caught up in a frenzy until the One who hushed the waters will hush every soul in silence by the mere glimpse of His glory.

Truly then can we say- what a wonderful world.

This entry was published on December 20, 2011 at 3:41 pm. It’s filed under God, Holidays, light and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

