Room for More

StarbucksMy Starbucks cup is sitting on the table to my left. There’s one sip left. Okay, I lied. Maybe two or three.

It takes me back to goodbyes at home last weekend. Coffee was a must for the drive to Ft. Lauderdale, so I filled my thermos to the brim. There wasn’t enough room to fit the rest of the coffee, but there wasn’t enough to leave in the pot either.  I sipped some off the top and poured in a little more. Still too much left, but not enough room to fit. I went through this process a few times. Sipping and filling, until finally the pot was empty.

My cup was full.

The coffee is long gone, but my cup is still full. In fact, the pot still has drippings to be emptied. I wake up every day, finding that there’s not enough room for more to fit. I’m overwhelmed by my Maker and His incredible love. Just when it seems like I’ve experienced it all, there’s more left, much more than I can fit, but nothing I want to leave behind. “Deep calls unto deep at the noise of Your waterfalls; all Your waves and billows have gone over me.” (Psalm 42:7)  His presence is sweet. His character continues to amaze me, and His faithfulness is beyond reason. I’m so satisfied in Him.

I’m grateful that the last sip doesn’t mean it’s the end of the pot.

This entry was published on December 1, 2012 at 9:59 pm and is filed under Bible, Contentment, Grateful, Praise. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

