Another Day, A New View

PerspectiveWhere do you look when you’re desperate? When you just need a moment? When you have to escape, where do you run?

This morning on my run, I was thinking about God’s perfect balance of goodness and truth. By the time I finished, I was desperate to get in the Word and know Jesus better. The desire increased as I focused on His greatness.

Rewind a few days (to a scene that could unfortunately be recorded multiple times in my life…). I wake up, with a long to-do list and a poor attitude, determined to “make it through.” Reading my Bible because I have to. Going to church to check it off my list. And, hoping to find the beauty of radical faith that everyone talks about (ironic how it can’t be found on my terms). Oh, and I was also running late. I looked to my circumstances, which were clearly short of all my “good day” expectations, for some sort of satisfaction.

This morning was different though. I was desperate, not for a change of circumstances, but for a change of heart. I couldn’t go on without hearing from the Lord. I looked to His sanctuary, to Christ Himself. And, by the grace of God, He gave me the opportunity to taste love, love unfailing. I beheld His incredible power and witnessed His glory in the faces and stories of people around me.

O God, you are my God;

Early will I seek You;

My soul thirsts for You

In a dry and thirsty land

Where there is no water.

So I have looked for You in the sanctuary,

To see Your power and Your glory.

Today wasn’t better because my circumstances changed. It was better because I chose to focus on the God of my circumstances instead. I realized that what I really needed was more of Him in the midst of a dry patch. And what I saw resulted in praise, and praise, and praise…and a dash of thanksgiving every other minute, too.

Because Your lovingkindness is better than life,

My lips shall praise You.

My lips don’t praise because my circumstances are perfect. My lips sing praise because He is loving and kind and better than a beautiful life.

Thus I will bless You while I live;

I will lift up my hands in Your name.

My soul shall be satisfied as with marrow and fatness,

And my mouth shall praise You with joyful lips.

(Excerpts from Psalm 63)

This entry was published on February 7, 2013 at 12:55 am. It’s filed under Bible, Faith, Glory, God, God's Word, Grateful, Perspective, Transformation, Trust and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Another Day, A New View

  1. this was a timely read. thank you for sharing your journey. you’ve blessed me tremendously tonight! I praise God for touching my heart through your surrender to Him. You are beautiful.

  2. Beautifully stated! Unfortunately it becomes too easy for us not to give Him due praise….thanks for setting the tone/reminding us of this :-)

Leave a Reply

