Meditations on Psalm 116

I love the Lord, because He has heard

My voice and my supplications.

Because He has inclined His ear to me,

Therefore I will call upon Him as long as I live. Psalm 116:1-3

He gets me.

As I sank into bed the other night, something clicked. No matter how much that one friend “gets me,” they will never fully understand.  They might be able to finish my sentences and know what I’m thinking by the look on my face, but He alone knows my deepest fears, the meditations of my heart, and thoughts crossing my mind a million miles a minute.  He knows me from the top of my head to the tips of my toes.  Nothing is too small or great to escape from His knowledge.  He’s a know-it-all, in the best possible way.

And still, still- He chooses to hear me.  Not only does He hear me, He turns His ear to me.  He stoops down to listen to this mess of a girl spill out her heart as if it’s the only thing that matters in this crazy world.  He makes me feel as if it is.  He makes an effort to tune into the cries of my heart.

That’s why I can call upon Him as long as I live, because He is faithful.  He will never leave me nor forsake me.  He won’t lose me on purpose or forget me on accident.  He won’t shrug off my concerns as if they were never spoken.  He leans in, closer, cups my face in His capable hands and assures me that my security is in Him.

“I love the Lord…” (v. 1)

This entry was published on March 13, 2013 at 3:56 pm. It’s filed under Bible, Comfort, God, God's Word, Grateful, Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

