Amazon.com and a two-box order

I’m waiting for a package to come in the mail, two actually. Call me crazy, but I’m anxiously waiting. In a good way. I keep checking the status online. Where is it today? Yes! In transit…only one state away. (I’m a nerd, I know. Also unashamed.)

“What are you awaiting?” Let me put your inquisitive mind at ease. I’m waiting for two books. (…contributing to nerd status.) You readers can identify with my yearning for a delightful package to find itself on my doorstep. For those of you who don’t enjoy reading, just imagine waiting for a package like you’re waiting for Christmas morning. Okay, I might be a little dramatic right now, but books are pretty spectacular.

I’m waiting.  And not only am I waiting. I am waiting with excitement, with eager anticipation.

In the midst of my waiting, I’ve asked myself, “Why don’t I wait like this more often?” Scripture says to “Wait on the Lord.” (Psalm 27:14) Most times when I read that, I picture one of those terrible Wal-Mart lines that stretches three miles long due to the few checkout lanes open. But, I think God is inviting me and you to wait differently.

I trust that my Amazon packages will arrive. I trust that what I’ve ordered will be in them. That’s why I look forward to their arrival. Yet, when it comes to God’s promises, I doubt His timing and provision, robbing me of my joy in waiting. I tap my foot, and sometimes throw a tantrum because I’m not getting what I want, when I want, even though I know He knows best.

I’ve spent time praying, letting my Daddy know His daughter’s requests. He says to trust Him and pour out my heart before Him, so I have (Psalm 62:8). I’ve sent in the order, so to speak. Now my job isn’t to question Him, but to wait with expectancy. I know that He hears, and I know that He answers (even if it isn’t according to my timing or finite understanding). Instead of getting antsy, I need to get excited!

If I pray for an opportunity to witness, let me live each day looking for that person. What will she look like? How will our stories intersect?

If I request a close community for fellowship, let me see with spiritual eyes. Maybe this is someone God sent my way! How can I spur them on and encourage them? 

If I ask for financial help, let me await His miraculous provision. How will God show up for this one?

Like boxes with a tracking number, let me search the Scriptures to make sure I’m on the right path, ready to receive what God has prepared for me.

What a beautiful new perspective! Thank You, Lord, for amazon.com, and a two-book order that teaches me joy in waiting.

Wait on the Lord;
Be of good courage,
And He shall strengthen your heart;
Wait, I say, on the Lord!

Psalm 27:14

This entry was published on June 17, 2013 at 2:09 pm. It’s filed under Faith, God, God's Word, Patience, Perspective, Time, Waiting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

