When You’re Dog Tired

I want to look you in the soul right now and tell you: it’s okay to rest.

This world keeps spinning faster. The notifications ring more frequently. The news only reminds us of how broken this place is. And most of our souls have no life left in them when we are always connected to the world, but disconnected from the One who made it.

I took some time today. I’ve heard it said that sometimes one of the most spiritual things you can do is take a nap. And I did—a four hour one to be exact. I watched a movie, lounged in my baggy sweat pants, and sipped on chamomile and peppermint tea while I read my Bible.

By some people’s standards, I had a mild week. Nothing life-changing happened. No big decisions to make. No losses to mourn. No parties to throw. But my body and my soul were dog tired. And no matter how much I tried to convince myself otherwise, I had to listen to what my insides were telling me.

I don’t know about you, but the world seems really loud most days. And I get the message that if I’m not doing something, I’m not worth anything.

That’s why a conversation with my good God always helps. He knows just what I need. This is what He reminded me of today:

In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and confidence shall be your strength. Isaiah 30:15

It’s in my continual turning to God that I find the strength that I need. It’s in my admittance to my own weakness that I am able to continue on.

So listen to me…better yet, listen to God: it’s okay necessary to rest. That’s where you are renewed. It’s where you gain your strength. It’s where you find your peace. Go grab those sweatpants and your Bible. Sit down with a hot cup of something, and let God take care of your soul. Rest, my sweet friend.

This entry was published on September 19, 2015 at 3:00 am. It’s filed under Bible, Faith and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

